On November 19th 2018 our Visitor Centre entered a new era as it re-opened in style after an extensive refurbishment.
His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, Governor of South Australia, officially re-opened one of our most popular stores along with Alister Haigh at an invitation-only event.
The Visitor Centre conducts 2,500 tours a year attracting 36,000 tourists who often arrive by the busload to experience our unique chocolate and to visit the factory.
Whilst visiting guests experience the art of chocolate-making and learn about Haigh’s Chocolates’ rich history. More than 100,000 people are served at the Visitor Centre store each year.
This location has become much more than a chocolate shop to South Australia. Factory viewing tours began here in 1996 when they were a relatively new concept for the public and we quickly realised what a wonderful attraction they were.
Our chocolate is made at the recently expanded Mile End cocoa bean processing plant. It is then transported to Parkside and used to make the hand-made chocolates such as truffles, Speckles and Easter eggs.
Haigh’s Chocolates Founder, Alfred Haigh, purchased the Parkside property in 1917 to build a two-roomed factory. He then and moved all manufacturing to the site from the Beehive Corner building in 1919.
The ‘new look’ Visitor Centre features a more industrial and relaxed finish than Haigh’s’ other retail stores in keeping with its factory location. The Centre is light and bright and the new layout provides a more enjoyable shopping and tourism experience.